Gettysburg, SD

School Board held special meeting Jan. 18

January 18, 2013
The Gettysburg Board of Education held a special meeting in the Elementary Library on the above date.  Present were the following:  Kay Schmidt, Matt Cronin, Kevin Geditz, Paul Kellogg, Ryan Lake, Brian Robbennolt and Kimberly Schweiss. Also present were Tim Hagedorn, Wendy Smith, Barb Everson, Molly McRoberts, Gayle Kludt, Mark Schatz, Jeff Goebel, Bill Wuttke, Teresa & Kevin Kilian, Dean Marske, Buffy King, Kevin Logan, John Lake, Bill Kellogg, Mike Schlachter and Vern Smith.
The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.
Board President Schmidt called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM.  Schmidt read correspondence regarding legislative updates.  Motion by Lake, second by Schweiss to approve the agenda.  All present voted aye.  Motion carried.
Mr. Hagedorn discussed the After-School program. April Hobert and Sally Simon will send a survey out and the tentative time-frame with be 1 hour/two times per week on a trial basis.  Motion by Schweiss, second by Lake to accept the money from the Maas Foundation for the after-school program.  All present voted aye.  Motion carried.
Dean Marske and Buffy King brought drawings and options for a new school.  A lengthy discussion on different plans was held.  We will have another special meeting on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 at 6:30 PM in the multi-purpose room.  We will ask Toby Morris to attend this meeting also.
Motion by Cronin, second by Kellogg to adjourn the meeting.  All present voted aye.  Motion carried.
The meeting was adjourned at 8:23 PM.
Barbara Everson, Business Manager
M. Kay Schmidt, Board President
Published once at the total approximate cost of $16.93