Gettysburg, SD
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Three Battler wrestlers to compete in State B tourney

The wrestling tournament was held at Rapid City Stevens High School with Region 4A and B schools competing to qualify for their state tournaments this weekend. The State B wrestling tournament will be in Aberdeen, SD on Feb. 28 and March 1 at the Northern State University Barnett Center.
Potter County had three wrestlers place in the top four to enable them to move on to the State tournament: Carl Cronin, champion at 106#, Garrett Rausch, third at 138# and Lucas Vogel, second at 182#.
The Battler team finished eight overall in the region.
106# Carl Cronin: win by pin in :55 over Jesse McCann (HC); 5-1 decision over Luke Henninger (SC); 4-3 decision over Hunter Peterson (P) to become champion.
113# Chance Stuwe: win by pin in 3:30 over Logan Kennedy (SC); loss by technical fall to Wyatt Pulscher (HS); win by forfeit from Bennett County; 2-4 loss to Jaden Shephard (MP).
120# Lucas Smith: 12-6 decision over Jahrett Schiemer (C); loss by injury forfeit to Joshua Simunek (HS).
138# Garrett Rausch: win by technical fall in 3:00 over Stone Jensen (MP); 4-1 decision over Tate Petrak (BC); loss by fall to Micheal Scott (SC); win by technical fall in 4:31 over Austin Wiley (SB); 4-2 decision over Jake Operpriller (HS) to place 3rd.
145# Chris Zuber: 7-5 decision over Trig Olson (HC); loss by fall to Jacob Desersa (HS); 14-4 major decision over Forrest Lewis (C); 7-11 loss to Nick Hayes (LYM).
152# Jesse Wheeler: loss by fall to Jace Anderson (SB); win by pin in 4:33 over Austin Shales (LD); 7-4 decision over Killian Warner (MP) loss by fall to Cooper Carter (SC).
182# Lucas Vogel: 1-0 decision over Grady Carley (P); 6-14 loss to Clayton Wahlstrom (C) to place 2nd.
195# Jordan Trujillio: loss by fall to David Jensen (MP); loss by fall to Brayden Peterson (LM)
220# JR Belford: loss by fall to Chase Schoenhard (MP); loss by fall to Mikey Murray (C).
TEAM SCORES: 1. Philip Area 230.5; 2, Stanley County, 199.0; 3, Hot Springs, 116.5; 4, Bennett County, 114.5; 5, Lemmon-McIntosh, 96.0; 6, Custer, 95.0; 7, Mobridge-Pollock, 73.5; 8, Potter County, 72.0; 9, Lyman, 43.0; 10, Sully Buttes, 42.0; 11, Harding County, 35.0; 12, Hill City, 30.5; 13, (tie) Lead-Deadwood and Newell, 13.0; 15, St. Thomas More, 12.0; 16, Red Cloud, 6.0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *