Gettysburg, SD
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Wrestlers place 10 in first tourney of season

The Potter Country Battlers competed in their first wrestling tournament of the year at the Stanley County Invitational on Saturday, Dec. 1.  They had a great showing, by having 10 wrestlers medal in the tourney.  They had two champions:  Cole Geditz and Denver Jost, one runner-up:  Austin Haberer and two earned fourth place:  Jace Everson and Garrett Rausch.
Luke Vogel and Truman Weyand each received fifth, Carl Cronin earned sixth and Chris Zuber and Jesse Wheeler received eighth place finishes.  The wrestling team will travel to Faulkton on Saturday, Dec. 8 for their next tournament.
The other schools participating in the Stanley County tourney were:  Bennett County (BC), Cheyenne-Eagle Butte/Dupree (CEB/D),  Burke-Gregory (B/G), Lemmon/McIntosh (LEM/M), Lyman (LYM), Mobridge-Pollock (MOB/P), Newell (NEW), Potter County (PC), Spearfish/Lead-Deadwood (SP-L/D), Stanley County (SC), Sully Buttes (SB) and Todd County (TC).  Here are the individual results:
Carl Cronin (106#) Won by pin in 1:58 over Bay Norton (SP-L/D) JV, Lost by fall to Tobias Weddell (TC), Won by major decision 13-2 over Dylan VanDerBoom (NEW), Won by decision 11-7 over Luke Heninger (SC), lost by decision 4-13 to Atlas Willuweit (B/G), and lost by decision 4-6 to Chris Kessler (CEB/D) to place 6th.
Phillip Vetter (113#) Won by Forfeit (TC), Lost by fall to Rance Sivertsen (SP-L/D), Lost by fall to Bray Harrison (MOB/P).
Garrett Rausch (120#) Won by pin in 2:50 over Camerson Voorhees (NEW), Lost by decision 3-8 to Hudson Pearman (TC), Won by pin in 4:10 over Lukas Chase (SC) and Lost by decision 4-8 to Joseph Veskman (B/G) to place 4th.
Chris Zuber (126#) Won by Forfeit (TC), Lost by fall to Kurt Braun (B/G), Won by DQ over Josh Gilliland (SB), Lost by decision 6-8 to Braden Gieb, Lost by fall to Tate Petrak (BC) to place 8th.
Jesse Wheeler (132#) Won by pin in 3:13 over Bryan Merkel (MOB/P), Lost by fall to Levi Schonebaum (B/G), Won by pin in 2:34 over Chase Nincehelser (SB), Lost by fall to Cody Larson (BC). Lost by decision 13-15 to Cutter Gillaspie (SC JV) to place 8th.
Jace Everson (138#) Won by decision 11-6 over Noah Beck (B/G), Lost by decision 1-3 to Casey Heninger (SC), Won by pin in 2:30 over Sean Warnock (SP-L/D), Lost by decision 5-10 to Garrett Keegan (CEB/D) to place 4th.
Truman Weyand (145#) Won by pin in :10 over Campbell Schenbeck (LEM/M), Won by pin in 1:09 over Travis Hill (SB), Lost by fall to Seth McCann (NEW), Lost by fall to Derek Stukel (B/G). Won by pin in :49 over Chandler Bakely (BC) to place 5th.
Cole Geditz (152#) Won by pin in 1:46 over Tucker Jones (SC JV), Won by pin in :49 over Brady Hicks (BC) and won by decision 7-1 over Brandon Warnke (B/G) to place 1st.
Austin Haberer (160#) Won by pin in 1:30 over Marcus Harris (BC), Won by pin in :41 over Kyler Schmidt (SP-L/D), Won by decision 5-3 over Jonah Beck (B/G), and lost by fall to Dakota McTaggart (NEW) to place 2nd.
Luke Vogel (170#) Lost by fall to Joe Merrival (BC), Won by Forfeit (LYM), Won by decision 6-0 over Bailey Denoyer (TC), Lost by fall to Dylan Hill (SB), Won by major decision 11-1 over Skye Soesbe (B/G JV) to place 5th.
Denver Jost (220#) Won by pin in 5:00 over Dowain Kerner (B/G) and won by pin in 5:43 over Todd Vandermay (BC) to place 1st.