Gettysburg, SD

Wrestlers win fourth in Ft. Pierre Big Dakota Conference

The Potter County Wrestlers traveled to Ft. Pierre on Saturday, Feb. 2 to participate in the tough Big Dakota Conference invitational.
They came away with four medal winners and a fourth place team finish against seventeen total teams participating.  The Battler medal
winners were:  Austin Haberer was the champion at 160#, Brody Schatz was the runner-up at 126# and consolation champions were Cole
Geditz at 152# and Luke Vogel at 170#.
The schools participating in the Big Dakota tourney were: Bennett County (BC), Chamberlain(CH), Cheyenne-Eagle Butte/Dupree (CEB/D), Harding County (HC), Kimball-White Lake/Platte-Geddes (K/WL/P-G), Groton (GROT), Miller/Highmore-Harrold (M/H), Parkston (PARK), Pine Ridge (PR), Mobridge-Pollock (MOB/P), Potter County (PC), Todd County (TC), Stanley County(SC), Sunshine Bible Academy(SUN B),  Wolsey-Wessington/Wessington Springs/Woonsocket (WS/W/WW), Winner (WIN), and Little Wound (LW).
The Battlers will travel on Saturday, Feb. 9 to the Holland Invitational tournament at Howard.
Here are the individual results from the Big Dakota Conference tourney:
Carl Cronin 106# (25-14)  Lost by decision 12-14 to Luke Heninger (SC), won by pin in 4:58 over Ty Bolton (WIN), won by pin in 2:59 over Jackson Nockels (K/WL/P-G), won by decision 8-3 over Bob Martin (PR) and lost by fall to Tobias Weddell (TC).
Luke Smith 113# (14-6)  Lost by fall to Logan Mahoney (PARK), won by pin in 2:38 over Jack Whaley (SC), and lost by fall to Chad Whitley (SC).
Garrett Rausch 120# (25-16)  Won by pin in :58 over Tye Kost (PARK), lost by decision 6-15 to Dawson Semmler (PARK), won by major decision 9-0 over Trig Olson (HC), won by major decision 13-0 over Jaden Madison (MOB/P) and lost by fall to Logan Pickner (CH).
Brody Schatz 126# (28-8)  Won by pin in 1:38 over Brady Schoenfelder (PARK), won by major decision 13-2 over Dalton Gerbracht (SUN B), won by pin in :57 over Tyrel Haley (WIN) and lost by major decision 4-14 to Ethan Murtha (PARK) to place 2nd.
Chris Zuber 132# (15-17)  Lost by pin to Austin Ripp (PARK), won by forfeit, and lost by decision 4-9 to Kayleb Borzik (WIN).
Jesse Wheeler 132# (2-7)  Lost by fall to Garrett Keegan (CEB/D) and lost by fall to Cutter Gillaspie (SC).
Jace Everson 138# (24-8)  Won by pin in :50 over Conrad Good Voice (TC), won by decision 8-3 over Tayte Clark (SUN B), lost by fall to Myles Bialas (PARK), and lost by fall to Jeric Albrecht (GROT).
Truman Weyand 145# (17-20)  Won by pin in :49 over Killian Warner (MOB/P), lost by fall to Paul Waring (M/H), won by pin in 2:12 over Sheldon Herr (GROT), and lost by fall to Chandler Bakley (BC).
Cole Gedtiz 152# (32-8)  Won by pin in :27 over Joe Marshall (TC), won by pin in 2:59 over Grant Brewer (MOB/P), lost by decision 2-3 to Devon Gnat (M/H), won by pin in 3:42 over Brady Hicks (BC) and won by decision 6-1 over Brandyn Middlesworth (WIN) to place 3rd.
Austin Haberer 160# (30-8)  Won by pin in :13 over Cohl Turnquist (WIN), won by decision 5-0 over Forrest Cerv (WIN) and won by decision 5-4 over Dillion Stadlman (PARK) to place 1st.
Luke Vogel 170# (22-13)  Won by decision 8-4 over Mike Hauke (CH), lost by fall to Tate Novotny (WIN), won by pin in :56 over Tyler Scott (GROT), and won by injury default over Herman Fennell (SC) to place 3rd.
Denver Jost 220# (14-12)  Lost by fall to Jacob Fouberg (WS/W/WW), won by pin in 2:05 over Marshall Johnson (M/H) and lost by injury default to Rob Stover (PR).